

## Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

January 18, 2017, 1:00 P.M. Room 419-C, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Dr. Hannaford, Johnnie

Parks and \*Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley

**COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT**: Bruce Day and Dr. Kent Shellenberger

**OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:** Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Robert Buswell, Jennifer Gambrell, Jerry Hsieh, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, Lecrecia Schmidt,

Dr. Kathren Stehno and Jeff Wallace.

**VISITORS:** 

Dr. Debbie Landry, Northeastern State University; Dr. Deborah White, Randall University; Dr. Martha Parrot, Northeastern State University; Dr. Robin Fuxa, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Bryan Duke, University of Central Oklahoma; Dr. James

Machell, University of Central Oklahoma; Dr. Jeffrey Keeney, Oklahoma Wesleyan University; Dr. Juliana Utlery, Oklahoma State University; Lisa

Bisogno, Northeastern State University; Dr.

Vanessa Anton, Northeastern State University; Dr. Courtney Glazer, Cameron University; Dr. Dana DeLong, Southwestern Christian University; Dr. Gayle Kearns, Southwestern Christian University; Dr. Courtney Munday, Southwestern Christian University; Shelley Groves, Southwestern Christian

Page 1 of 4

University; Dr. Cathleen Skinner, Southwestern Christian University; Phyllis Hadley, Southwestern Christian University and Jake Yunker, Office of the Governor

**Call to Order:** Dr. Bo Hannaford called the meeting to order at 1:02 P.M.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Dr. Bo Hannaford asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of Minutes from the November 16, 2016 Commission Meeting**: Mr. Parks made a motion to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2016 Commission meeting as submitted. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	absent
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	absent
Mr. Day:	absent		

Discussion and action on the Program Review Advisory Board's recommendation for approval of the following programs:

- A. Northeastern State University- Oklahoma Elementary Math Specialist
- B. Northeastern State University- Masters in Special Education- Autism Spectrum Disorders
- C. Southwestern Christian University- Elementary Education
- D. Southwestern Christian University- Early Childhood Education
- E. Oklahoma State University- Masters of Arts in Teaching -Elementary Education

Mr. Parks made a motion to approve the Program Review Advisory Board's recommendation for all programs as presented. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	absent
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	absent
Mr. Day:	absent		

<sup>\*</sup> Secretary Shirley arrived at 1:10 PM.

**Discussion and action on approval of continued State accreditation for the University of Central Oklahoma for seven years:** Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve continued State accreditation for the University of Central Oklahoma for seven years. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:approveDr. Hannaford:approveMr. Brown:approveDr. Shellenberger:absentMr. Parks:approveSecretary Shirley:approve

Mr. Day: absent

**Discussion and action on approval of continued State accreditation for Oklahoma Wesleyan University for seven years:** Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve continued State accreditation for Oklahoma Wesleyan University for seven years. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:approveDr. Hannaford:approveMr. Brown:approveDr. Shellenberger:absentMr. Parks:approveSecretary Shirley:approve

Mr. Day: absent

**Discussion and action for adoption of proposed permanent rules- Chapter 10:** Mr. Brown made a motion to approve the adoption of proposed permanent rules- Chapter 10. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Shellenberger: absent Mr. Parks: approve Secretary Shirley: approve

Mr. Day: absent

Discussion and action for Memorandum of Understanding with Statewide Virtual Charter School Board to conduct "Data Analysis Relative to the Performance Framework of Oklahoma Statewide Virtual Charter Schools": Mr. Parks made a motion to approve the Memorandum of Understanding with Statewide Virtual Charter School Board. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:approveDr. Hannaford:approveMr. Brown:approveDr. Shellenberger:absentMr. Parks:approveSecretary Shirley:approve

Mr. Day: absent

New Business: None

<b>Announcements and Informational Items:</b> Secretary Shirley, Dr. Hannaford, Mr. Parks, Ms. Bixler and Mr. Brown discussed with the OEQA staff and decided to move Commission meetings to a 1:30 start time for the remainder of 2017.
The meeting adjourned at 2:10 PM.
The minutes of the January 18, 2017 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

	as submitted	with corrections
on March 8, 2017.		
Signed:		
Natalie Shirley, Chairman		Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director